To Dwell in Darkness ~ Blog Tour Stop with Review

To Dwell in Darkness ~ Blog Tour Stop with ReviewAuthor: Deborah Crombie
Title: To Dwell in Darkness
Series: Duncan Kincaid #16
Publisher: Harper Collins
Pages: 336
Release Date: September 23rd 2014
Genres: Mystery & Thriller
In the tradition of Elizabeth George, Louise Penny, and P. D. James, "New York Times" bestselling author Deborah Crombie delivers a powerful tale of intrigue, betrayal, and lies that will plunge married London detectives Duncan Kincaid and Gemma James into the unspeakable darkness that lies at the heart of murder.

Recently transferred to the London borough of Camden from Scotland Yard headquarters, Superintendent Duncan Kincaid and his new murder investigation team are called to a deadly bombing at historic St. Pancras Station. By fortunate coincidence, Melody Talbot, Gemma s trusted colleague, witnesses the explosion. The victim was taking part in an organized protest, yet the other group members swear the young man only meant to set off a smoke bomb. As Kincaid begins to gather the facts, he finds every piece of the puzzle yields an unexpected pattern, including the disappearance of a mysterious bystander.

The bombing isn t the only mystery troubling Kincaid. He s still questioning the reasons behind his transfer, and when his former boss who s been avoiding him is attacked, those suspicions deepen. With the help of his former sergeant, Doug Cullen, Melody Talbot, and Gemma, Kincaid begins to untangle the truth. But what he discovers will leave him questioning his belief in the job that has shaped his life and his values and remind him just how vulnerable his precious family is.
Format: Paperback
Add to Goodreads
four-half-stars

*I received a free copy of this book from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.*

Welcome to our stop on the Deborah Crombie tour for To Dwell in Darkness.

To Dwell in Darkness is the sixteenth book in the Duncan Kincaid and Gemma James series by Deborah Crombie. I’ll admit that I haven’t read any of this series before. It’s been on my TBR for a long time, but I never got around to it. I was very excited when TLC Book Tours offered me the opportunity to read one of Deborah Crombie’s books.

To Dwell in Darkness Trade PaperbackAbout To Dwell in Darkness

• Paperback: 336 pages
• Publisher: William Morrow Paperbacks; Reprint edition (June 9, 2015)

Recently transferred to the London borough of Camden from Scotland Yard headquarters, detective superintendent Duncan Kincaid and his new murder investigation team are called to a deadly bombing at historic St. Pancras International Station. By fortunate coincidence, detective sergeant Melody Talbot, Gemma’s trusted colleague, witnesses the explosion. The victim was taking part in an organized protest, yet the other group members swear the young man only meant to set off a smoke bomb. As Kincaid begins to gather the facts, he finds that every piece of the puzzle yields an unexpected pattern, including the disappearance of a mysterious bystander.

The bombing isn’t the only mystery troubling Kincaid. He’s still questioning the reasons behind his transfer, and when his former boss continues to avoid him, those suspicions deepen. With the help of his former sergeant, Doug Cullen, Melody Talbot, and Gemma, Kincaid begins to untangle the truth.

But what he discovers will leave him questioning his belief in the job that has shaped his life and his values—and remind him just how vulnerable his precious family is.

Add to Goodreads badge

Purchase Links

Amazon IndieBound | Barnes & Noble

About Deborah CrombieDeborah Crombie

Deborah Crombie is a New York Times bestselling author and a native Texan who has lived in both England and Scotland. She now lives in McKinney, Texas, sharing a house that is more than one hundred years old with her husband, three cats, and two German shepherds.

Connect with her through her website, Facebook or follow her on Twitter or Google+.

 

 

Jennifer’s Review of To Dwell in Darkness

Although this is the sixteenth book in the series, I was able to jump in without a problem. I didn’t feel lost or confused. The author injected the story with tidbits about the characters’ pasts, so the reader can get to know them without having to read previous books.

I appreciated that the story gets to the point in the very first chapter. The problem grabbed my attention and held it. I didn’t have to guess what the story would be about. It was very clear. Not only did the problem–a man setting himself on fire–grab my attention, but also the protagonists caught my interest. Duncan, Gemma, and Melody, in particular, are well-developed and likable characters.

One of the best aspects of To Dwell in Darkness was the imagery. I enjoyed Deborah Crombie’s word choices, which made the details come alive for me. I felt this book was well-researched, with attention given to the little things that can flesh out the story. I am the kind of person who notices when small details don’t match up or are ignored, so I was happy that there weren’t those kinds of problems within this book.

I also enjoyed the subplots, especially the one involving Duncan and Gemma’s children and the kittens. The family dynamics made them more interesting and endearing. Plus, I am a sucker for any book with animals. They add something special to the story.

While Duncan is investigating the man who burned to death (injuring other people in the process), Gemma is investigating the brutal rape and murder of a twelve year old girl. The author spent adequate time on Gemma’s case at regular intervals throughout the story, so it wouldn’t be forgotten.

Not all of the subplots are resolved at the end of the book, but that’s okay because it makes me want to read the next book in the series.

The only complaint I have about To Dwell in Darkness is that the ending was kind of blah. Although it was a satisfactory conclusion in the sense of ends being tied up for the main plot, I felt like it wasn’t exciting enough. The main characters don’t face any danger from the villain other than a threat given as the villain is taken away by the police. I would have liked a more intense confrontation that put someone’s life in jeopardy.

Despite the less than spectacular ending, the book was well-written and captivating. The pacing was excellent. I read it straight through with only breaks long enough to get a cup of coffee or go to the bathroom. Rarely a book gets me that hooked. For that reason, I strongly recommend To Dwell in Darkness to mystery readers, especially those who like stories where the cops have very little evidence to go on, but end up figuring it out in the end.

I give To Dwell in Darkness 4.5 stars for fast-pacing, vivid descriptions, attention to detail, and captivating characters.

One thought on “To Dwell in Darkness ~ Blog Tour Stop with Review

  1. I love getting wrapped up in a book like this to the point where everything else become unimportant. What a ride!

    Thanks for being a part of the tour!

Leave a Comment

CommentLuv badge