Review: Carved in Bone by Jefferson Bass (#1 Body Farm series)

Review: Carved in Bone by Jefferson Bass (#1 Body Farm series)Author: Jefferson Bass
Title: Carved in Bone with Bonus Material
Series: The Body Farm #1
Publisher: Harper Collins
Pages: 291
Release Date: 2010-12-21
Genres: Mystery & Thriller
Renowned anthropologist Dr. Bill Brockton has spent his career surrounded by death at the Body Farm. Now he's being called upon to help solve a baffling puzzle in a remote mountain community. The mummified corpse of a young woman dead for thirty years has been discovered in a cave, the body bizarrely preserved and transformed by the environment's unique chemistry. But Brockton's investigation is threatening to open old wounds among an insular people who won't forget or forgive. And a long-buried secret prematurely exposed could inflame Brockton's own guilt—and the dangerous hostility of bitter enemies determined to see him fail . . . by any means necessary.

With Fascinating Insider Information on the Body Farm!
Format: Paperback
AmazonAdd to Goodreads

My review of Carved in Bone (2006) was originally posted on GoodReads. I’ve edited it a little…

I have mixed feelings. I was really looking forward to reading this book because I live in Tennessee and the body farm at U.T.  is one of our claims to fame.

Positives: character development; dialect of the locals; suspense; research.

Negatives: Bill was stiff at the beginning, but changed for no apparent reason as the story went on.

Bill’s dialect changed as the story progressed which didn’t seem right.

The dialogue between Bill and his colleagues was awkward, unnatural.

Overall, I liked the story, but it bothered me that the main character was revered as a genius in his field by everyone he met. Since the main character appears to be based on one of the authors, it seemed like a case of ‘tooting your own horn.’ He may very well be a genius, but he didn’t need to keep saying it.

At first I thought I wouldn’t read any more books in the series, but I decided to give it a second chance. Currently, there are eight books in the series. The next one is coming out in 2015.

Leave a Comment

CommentLuv badge